RSS

Start with “me” to build a “we”

22 Aug

One of my friends, Brandon, was always in a relationship. I don’t think I’ve seen him single for more than a week in all the time we’ve know each other. Now he wasn’t quite the chick magnet, but he had a way with words. He was one of the good guys.

In one of our discussion, this came up. He admitted that the real problem wasn’t not finding the right girl, but hating to be alone…

In order for there to be a you+ me= we, there must be a heathy “me”. A growing relationship is based on two mature individuals who know how to handle life and want to share it together. When one of them is dependent on the other for their happiness, weird things happen.

When the relationships is a patch for a soul struggle, a deep heart wound or insecurity, the relationships is not in a good spot. If you’re using the other person just so you won’t feel alone, how much is love and how much is self-love?

I’m not talking here about being selfish, not that kind of love but a proper understanding and relating of you with yourself. How can you love your neighbore as yourself if you don’t love yourself?

Take the time to understand who you are. Take the time to appreciate the good, to ponder about the things that need some work… Take some time to work on yourself. Be loving, be firm, be honest and real. And when you’ll meet somebody who you want to spend your life with, you won’t have a perfect heart to share… but one that’s been healing and growing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Start with “me” to build a “we”

  1. dancinginhisgrace

    August 22, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Good thoughts. I heard a speaker at an extremely conservative church once say, “Your significant other should not complete you, they should compliment you.”

    I cringe when I hear these young couples saying things like “he completes me” or “she fills up all those empty places I have.” Its perfect.

    Its not.

    Hope you’ll keep posting more!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
